Monthly reading review November

november

I’ve read only two books in November.

One was Unterstadt by Ivana Šojat-Kuči an author from my hometown.

Unterstadt OVITAK.indd
It was deeply disturbing family drama based on real events told from the perspective of four women in a family with German origins. Plot has a time frame from WWI to early 21st century. It was a book I had to read for my real life book club. We had a club birthday which we celebrated in a small vine shop with the author above. It was fun to have a conversation with the author in person. This book was made into a play in our local theater and we will go to see it as a club next season. The play was actually a big hit in our country. What I don’t like about the book is serious tone of it and reality of the tragedies in it – it has a politic theme and I tend to avoid that in my reading. It is after all Balkan peninsula I live in; and we have a long history with wars and political disorders…

Second was Outlander (Outlander book 1) by Diana Gabaldon.
It was a long read and had it’s good sides and bad sides. Jamie was okay and the historical details were interesting. I’m not sure if I’m going to continue this series. I’ve posted a review on it HERE

I have three more books with reading in progress:

1984 by George Orwell

1984

This is a reading assignment for my RL book club. It is progressing nicely but I’m not too thrilled with what I read so far. Dystopian theme is not my favorite at all…

Mirror Dance (Miles Vorkosigan saga book 12) by Lois McMaster Bujold

mirror dance

This is part of my BF challenge. I like this most of from the current reading even though it is a space opera.

The third one is In Desert and Wilderness by Henryk Sienkiewicz. This one I have been reading the least.

I think I need to go back to reading some mangas soon …

Leave a Reply

