Monthly reading review – October 2015

 

3a35bf0467c8cf2cfaa8d86d56a63011

Monthly reading review – October 2015

This October I have read:

The Circle by Dave Eggers ★★★
Pines (Wayward Pines book 1) by Blake Crouch ★★★★
One Weird Trick (Sex Criminals vol 1) by Matt Fraction, Chip Zdrasky ★★★
Opal (Lux book 3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout ★★
String Theory (Wayward volume 1) by Jim Zub, Steve Cummings ★★★★
Rival (Fall Away book 3) by Penelope Douglas ★★★★
Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami ★★★
Falling Away (Fall Away book 4) by Penelope Douglas ★★★★

reading-a-book-in-fall

1. How many books you’ve read last month? Are you happy with the amount you read?

This October I have ready 8 books and since I try to keep my reading around ten books a month this was a bit less than what I wanted to do. It is no defense that I played a lot of online video games this October and that cut into my reading time a bit too.

19d71d5

2. What was the best of all the books you’ve read in October? Any scenes or characters that made a lasting impression?

There are more books that made my reading this October. Two very good graphic novels I both made the reviews for (One Weird Trick (Sex Criminals vol 1) and String Theory (Wayward volume 1) ) and as a surprise of the month was Wayward Pines novel that made me watch the whole first season of the TV show too. I must say that the TV show was comparatively mild to the book and I’m still under the impression of the book.

carnage_news_wayward_road

3. Were there any not so good books for you last month? What made it hard or not enjoyable to read?

I’m still trying to figure out what to do about the let down book of the October which was Opal (Lux book 3). I’m not dealing well with the fact that I had my mind set on reading and buying the series for my shelf. First thought that came to mind was to get rid of them by giving them away and not fall into temptation to buy the next books in the series. I’m still spinning in circles about it and have issues on giving it up.

4. How did the books you were reading last month fit in your reading plans if you had any?

Both books for RL book club were done in their due time and I also had a free pass with one book I read not so long ago and just had to brush up on it – Name of the Rose by Umberto Ecco . And reading picks of the moment were exceptionally good this October. 

5. Any updates on the series you are reading or are you starting any new series?

It was good to get back to not one but two series I have on TBR list for a while. I keep fighting off temptations on starting any new book series so I started two new graphic novel series instead. I also need to keep in mind that my shelves are filled with book series I love and still need to get up to date!

perfectbloodWallpaper1280

6. Would you like to recommend any books or authors you’ve been reading this last month?

I’d like to recommend Circle by Dave Eggers as a thought inspiring reading in this age of social networking. It is highly underrated book and I’m sorry I haven’t made a proper review on it. The rest of the recommendations you can see trough book reviews I did in October 🙂

the-circle

Leave a Reply

