The Sword of Summer – Book Review

5162WSS0S5L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Finished reading:

The Sword of Summer

(Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: Book 1)

by Rick Riordan ★★★★★

Expectation

I expected it to be as fun as the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series and with a touch of cool since here we have Norse gods. I love these books and the positively fun style they are written in. These are adventure books that make my inner child happy and my grumpy adult more bearable to live with.

Most important thing have names…

MAGNUS-CHASE_jacket_FINAL-2

Summary

Wrongly chosen, wrongly slain

A hero Valhalla cannot contain

Nine days hence must go East

Ere Sword of Summer unbinds The Beast

In this book main hero is around sixteen year old unlike the Percy whose story starts when he is twelve. The storytelling is funny and fast paced. The characters don’t get to slack around and their adventures are a non-stop merry go round.

stick with us

I went to find breakfast and kill it with my sword…

The viking feel to the story is present and the Norse mythology is revealed in a new light. In the light of more known Norse gods like Thor, Odin and Loki it was a pleasure to learn about other less known entities.

magnus-chase-nine-realms

Whenever I’m tempted to hug a dwarf, that’s usually a sign I need to move along…

Again I was amazed at how the author takes some mundane teen troubles and explaines them with a twist on the supernatural. There are some really deep and serious backstories throught the book and some of them thought me a great respect for Rick Riordan.

“Elves.” Blitz shrugged. “They have a low tolerance for anything that isn’t perfect – music, art appearances. Their own children.”

mag-chase_DOG_v2

Sword of Summer appeared in my hands. It’s blade purred  like a demented cat.

There were so many funny quotes in this book and I can’t post them all. If I were more Photoshop savy I would have made some cool quote pictures alas I’m not.

…most powerful paradoxes in the Nine Worlds – Wi-Fi with no lag, a politicians sincerity, a printer that prints, healthy deep fried food and an interesting grammar lecture.

There were some places like Hotel Valhalla that were so nicely descripted I was daydreaming on a TV show to put it to life.

bookish-problem-9-having-to-keep-calm-until-the-next-book-in-the-series-is-published-e3445

Conclusion

This book has restored my faith in Christmas this year. Waiting on the next book is going to be pure torture! I will love it and fangirl over it! I might even give Kane Chronicles a second chance next year!

The only limits on your magic are your strength and your imagination…

One thought on “The Sword of Summer – Book Review

  1. Pingback: Monthly Reading Review – December 2015 | anastasiaadamov

Leave a Reply

