The Death and Life of Bobby Z – Book Review

Bobby Z

Finished reading

The Death and life of Bobby Z

by Don Winslow

★★★★

Expectation

Lately I’ve been in a reading slump. Books that I used to adore and themes I used to love make me lose interest fast. At the bookstore we had an outlet book sale and The Death and Life of Bobby Z was one of the books offered. I put the Croatian edition cover with the English one since I like how it looks like. Title in Croatian is Smrt i život Bobbyja Z-a.

Mexaco-US Border

Summary

It is an action packed crime novel set in California and Mexican border. Some parts of the book are all about blowing people and stuff up.  For a  looser convict main character goes trough unusually lucky period. This book is perfect read for beach or any sunny type of vacation.

huntington-beach-surfing-n5-california-united-states+1152_12989323580-tpfil02aw-16346

The story is actually all about hope and second chances. Compared to reality of drug wars the story is much like a fairy tale. Aside human trafficking, drugs and illegal activities there’s also some really mean bikers, much profanities and some steamy sex scenes.

1986hat3o404ijpg

All the while I was reading I had that feeling like I was watching a movie from the Fast and Furious series. When I finally looked it up I found there is a movie by the book with none other than Paul Walker as the main protagonist!

Conclusion

I liked this little break from my usual reading genres. I’m glad I picked up this book. It was relaxing and fun read and now I have an idea for a movie night as well!

Leave a Reply

