Monthly reading review – April 2016

images

Monthly reading review – April 2016

This April I have read:

La sombra del viento  (El cementerio de los libros olvidados #1) by Carlos Ruiz Zafón ★★★★

Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega #4) by Patricia Briggs ★★★

Mad About the Boy (Bridget Jones, #3) by Helen Fielding ★

Half Bad (The Half Bad Trilogy, #1) by Sally Green  ★★★★★

Half Wild (The Half Bad Trilogy, #2) by Sally Green  ★★★★

Half Lost (The Half Bad Trilogy, #3) by Sally Green  ★★★★

The Mean Seasons (Fables, Vol. 5) by Bill Willingham ★★★★

And the Mountains Echoed by  Khaled Hosseini ★★★

Drawn Together by Z.A. Maxfield ★★★★

My American Duchess by Eloisa James ★★★★

1232

1. How many books you’ve read last month? Are you happy with the amount you read?

I have finally reached the double digit monthly score that I’ve been trying to since last year. I’ve read 10 books up to making this post. Even though I’ve finished My American Duchess just am hour ago I’m counting it to April reading! This calls for some happy dancing 🙂

calvin-and-hobbes-dancing-calvin-and-hobbes-1395521-1623-1200

2. What was the best of all the books you’ve read in April? Any scenes or characters that made a lasting impression?

The only book I’ve rated with five stars in April was Half Bad by Sally Green. I’ve made the review on it and quickly went on a reading spree trough the whole trilogy! I enjoyed it immensely. Nathan was a compelling character and I loved reading his slightly removed perspective. I also loved reading Shadow of the Wind for RL bookclub. 

half bad trilogy

3. Were there any not so good books for you last month? What made it hard or not enjoyable to read?

Mad about the boy was a real let down. The book was frustrating and at times insulting. I could not understand what author wanted to convey with the book and the main character was completely aggravating. 

On the side note Dead Heat was OK but I expected more from a long time favorite author and UF genre series. I still rated it with three stars and adore the concept and art.

90ad05d5b5ccf8ae34a548fa72416122

4. How did the books you were reading last month fit in your reading plans if you had any?

I had no grand plans for April and just went with what I felt like reading mostly. I think it helped that I now have one one RL book club assignment per month and I’ve read ahead with And the Mountains Echoed by  Khaled Hosseini which is due at the start of May actually. That took some presure off and gave me a bit more leeway in my reading plans and posting in May.

5. Any updates on the series you are reading or are you starting any new series?

I actually started and finished a whole series in April and that felt really good to achieve. I finished all the borrowed graphic novels with Fables vol 5. I have closed the chapter with last Bridget Jones novel and hope to never venture that way again. I will probably not continue The Cemetery of Forgotten Books series by Carlos Ruiz Zafón even though I liked it. I even got a Patricia Briggs Alpha & Omega series up to date!

BJ-Luda-za-njimCroatian edition cover for Mad about the boy by Helen Fielding – IMO the best part of the book 😦

6. Would you like to recommend any books or authors you’ve been reading this last month?

I would love to recommend Half Bad trilogy and I’m adding it to my wishlist. It is a book series I would like to own and read again sometime in the future. I’m also interested in two available novellas. Eloisa James was a great author to finish April with and to start May! 

half bad novellas

Final thoughts on April reading:

There were more than enough happy reading moments in April and I think I will have to go back and make more posts in May! With more reading done I’m having much more happy reading moments and it gives me more to write about! I’m satisfied with my April reading and hope to show it with more posting in May.

Leave a Reply

