Monthly reading review – October 2016

free-clip-art-of-month-signs-shgvr1-clipart

Monthly reading review -October 2016

This October I have read:

The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey ★★★★

A Thousand Years of Good Prayers by Yiyun Li ★★★

Angel: The End by Bill Willingham, et all ★★★★

Angel, Volume 1: Immortality For Dummies ★★★

Angel, Volume 2: The Crown Prince Syndrome★★★★ 

Angel, Volume 3: The Wolf, the Ram, and the Hart ★★★

Angel Yearbook ★★★

51qykti-sil-_sx327_bo1204203200_

1. How many books you’ve read last month? Are you happy with the amount you read?

This October I’ve read two books and one graphic novel omnibus. I’m not pleased by the amount. It could have been better but at least I’ve made some progress with books long overdue.

2.  What made it hard or not enjoyable to read?

I had some issues with getting my hands on the books I’ve wanted to read. Angel: The End graphic novel omnibus was a heavy hardcover edition with around 450 pages and made my arms hurt from holding it more than 10 minutes.  Also for the first time ever I’m having eyesight issues. I’m not cooping with it well. I read less and also watch less movies and TV shows. It has made me agitated and unfriendly.

a_thousand_years_of_good_prayers

3.How did the books you were reading last month fit in your reading plans if you had any?

I did one RL book club reading and the second one was pushed for November (not by my choice). I’m glad I pushed myself to finally finish Angel: The End. It opened up options for some other graphic novel editions to get to the top of my TBR by the end of the year. 

7202496

4. Any updates on the series you are reading or are you starting any new series?

This is a second month I’ve been MIA with my book series. If I keep this up I’m going to have to start reading them anew for I won’t remember then good enough.

Final thoughts on October reading:

My October reading had one  drama short story collection I’m still wrapping my mind around of. It has made me think and try to learn more on Chinese culture and life in modern China. I’m even watching some TV shows for a specific reason to learn more about it. Having finished Angel graphic novel omnibus has liberating of sorts.

51fvosqvrql

My book series dry spell has mad me appreciate stand alone books more. I’m very happy with having read The Girl With all the Gifts. I’m still hoping to watch the movie version soon but I’m a bit confused with finding out the release date for it in my country.

I have some reading at the moment books that I’m close to finishing but that is a topic for another post 🙂

Leave a Reply

