A Christmas Carol – Book Review

9781853261213_z

Finished reading

A Christmas Carol

by Charles Dickens

★★

Expectation

This was my first reading of this little book. It was a book club assignment for December. Since lately work has been busy and reading has been scarce altogether I liked the idea of a short little book. Nevertheless I decided to read it in English in this quirky edition showed in the picture above.

“I HAVE endeavoured in this Ghostly little book, to raise the Ghost of an Idea, which shall not put my readers out of humour with themselves, with each other, with the season, or with me. May it haunt their houses pleasantly, and no one wish to lay it. Their faithful Friend and Servant, C.”
― Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

Summary

As I began to read I loved the author’s dedication at the beginning of the book. It was the first thing about this little book that made me realize I’m going to love reading it! Lately I was in bit of a Scrooge mode myself and this one paragraph really struck a cord:

“What’s Christmastime to you but a time for paying bills without money; a time for finding yourself a year older; and not an hour richer; a time for balancing your books and having every item in ’em trough a round dozen of months presented dead against you? ”

bah-humbug

Only thing I’ve read by Charles Dickens before this was Oliver Twist as a mandatory reading in school. As an easily impressed child I found it to be quite depressing.

This time reading it in English AND with a bit more cheery topic I loved the authors writing style. Some catchphrases and metaphors had profound impact on me.

…fellow passengers to the grave…

…darkness is cheap…

…more of gravy than of grave with you…

…bachelor was a wretched outcast…

1f5c3b54919d13504ee9cd272a9debf9

Conclusion

I’m glad I’ve read this little book. It is a wonderful feel good book. If not for it’s Christmasy theme it might not be so easy to go over some parts of it. Just complaining over this tiny bit makes one feel like a Scrooge from the beginning of the book.

One thought on “A Christmas Carol – Book Review

Leave a Reply

