Monthly reading review – February 2017

february

Monthly reading review – February 2017

This February I have read:

Le Bal du comte d’Orgel by Raymond Radiguet ★★★★

Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy ★★

The Turn of the Screw by Henry James ★

Married By Morning (The Hathaways #4) by Lisa Kleypas ★★★★

Factotum by Charles Bukowski ★★★

wnaf0sm

1. How many books you’ve read last month? Are you happy with the amount you read?

This February I’m back at a reading pace of around one book per week. It is generally a good number but I get greedy for more.

2. What was the best of all the books you’ve read in February? Any scenes or characters that made a lasting impression?

From all the books I’ve read in February I’ve liked a historical romance Married by Morning the most. Aside from being a work of one of my favorite authors – Lisa Kleypas, it was by far the happiest read I’ve had all month.

3. Were there any not so good books for you last month? What made it hard or not enjoyable to read?

From five books I’ve read three of them are set in English countryside and one in French! The scenery was very much the same but the characters were not. Turn of the Screw was a baffling read for me. I gave it one star mark on GR for more than one reason. The topic and how the work was presented were at best confusing. I felt like the author wanted to write a novel that was modern at that time – ghost story and just threw few ideas on the paper without making an effort.The whole story just felt boring and out of balance.

“Frankly, I was horrified by life, at what a man had to do simply in order to eat, sleep, and keep himself clothed. So I stayed in bed and drank. When you drank the world was still out there, but for the moment it didn’t have you by the throat.”
― Charles Bukowski, Factotum

4. How did the books you were reading last month fit in your reading plans if you had any?

Three out of five books were for my RL book club! This is seriously turning around my reading habits and I’m not sure how I feel about that. Other two books were a random picks in the spur of the moment. I had plans for reading more books I already own, but aside from Tess of the D’Urbervilles which I bought for the purpose of reading it for book club (!) not one other of the books I’ve read in February is actually owned by me.

As plans go, I’m not pleased.

29101e6237b9bfeb7dbe246a621c2fb9

5. Any updates on the series you are reading or are you starting any new series?

From the five books I’ve read in February only Married by Morning is a part of a book series. Since I jumped in with book 4. from the series I’m interested in reading some other books from The Hathaways book series.

6. Would you like to recommend any books or authors you’ve been reading this last month?

Much of my February reading has been done out of book club obligation and it is about time to take my own advice and read more books for fun. I don’t think I would have made it out of my February reading without Lisa Kleypas and her HR romance series. Bukowski was painfully sarcastic and reading it now when I’m older is a completely different experience that it was when I was younger. I would recommend it as a reading that gives perspective on life better than any sugarcoated self help book could do.

Final thoughts on February reading

All that stayed with me for reading classics these last two months is that I prefer reading my funny, trashy, romance and fantasy books more and more!

I like keeping track of my monthly reading in this manner because I keep getting surprised by my own reading habits. It felt good getting all the required RL book club reading done in time. Turning around I feel I miss my free reading more and more. Again I’m thinking about book club required reading becoming a chore instead of a favorite hobby. It gives me something to think about while I pick out books for March.

Leave a Reply

