TBR Jar Draw May 2017

Spikeidwseries

Spike: The Complete Series

(Angel: After the Fall)

by Brian Lynch, Nicola Zanni ★★

Finally finished last months TBR draw! Last time I opted to read two out of three but this time I managed to finish only this one. All in all I liked this graphic novel and reading about all of these familiar characters. When it comes to all things Whedonverse I am biased. I’m definitely a fan 🙂

I had some issues at first with dark artwork and when in doubt all I had to do is look at the cover and was hooked back in. The amount of familiar characters thrown into this story is staggering and made the story slightly unbalanced.

AUG100331_11

Contrary to some of the variant covers Angel and Illyra are NOT in this one. The female character Beck did not ring any bells which made me think about the huge time gaps between my reading trough Angel After The Fall graphic novel series.

The two draws I have not read are going back in the jar:

# Rosemary and Rue (October Daye #1) by Seanan McGuire

Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Vol. 1 (Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Season 1 #2-3)
by John Vornholt, Arthur Byron Cover, Alice Henderson, Joss Whedon (Creator)

My three new TBR Jar draws are as follows:

9780552572507

1 # The Crooked Sixpence (The Uncommoners #1) by Jennifer Bell, Karl James Mountford (Illustrator)

This was a gift I got somewhere last year from a work buddy. All I know is that it is fantastic novel for children. I thought the blurb on the cover to be interesting enough:

When their grandmother Sylvie is rushed to the hospital, Ivy Sparrow and her annoying big brother Seb cannot imagine what adventure lies in store. Soon their house is ransacked by unknown intruders, and a very strange policeman turns up on the scene, determined to apprehend them . . . with a toilet brush. 

Kinda quirky and possibly entertaining read

angel-souls-and-devil-hearts

2 # Angel Souls and Devil Hearts (Shadow Saga #2) by Christopher Golden

I read the first book from this series almost a decade ago. I thought it to be kinda dark and gritty. The horror elements freaked me out a bit. I liked the main character though. Picking up the second novel might be a bit of a challenge after all this time…

interview-cover

3 # Interview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles #1) by Anne Rice

I have started reading this one for a few times now. I always get the book mixed up with the movie version since I watched the movie way to many times. I should probably make myself read trough this book already since it is such a prominent title in the urban fantasy genre and I have almost all of the books from the series anyway…

7dd96ff4a5eee070c17cb1758249e8a6

While my selection is a bit more challenging this time I know I will enjoy my reading no matter what I pick in the end!

Leave a Reply

