TBR Jar Draw September 2017

21460330_10156060722354026_981997449_o

After finishing the last TBR Jar Draw from May in a lot longer than expected I took my time with pulling out the new titles for reading. No doubt that my little reading project is going rather slowly if taken into account that I skipped on it for the last few months. I’m considering indulging and reading some books off my shelves that strike my fancy as well as those titles I pull from the jar to compensate for these few months. Lately some of the books on my shelves caught my eye.

interview-with-a-vampire

The last book I was reading for the TBR Jar Draw was Interview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles #1) by Anne Rice. I’m very pleased with finishing it and I made a short review of my reading experience that can be read HERE.

The two draws I have not read are going back in the jar:

 # The Crooked Sixpence (The Uncommoners #1) by Jennifer Bell, Karl James Mountford (Illustrator)

# Angel Souls and Devil Hearts (Shadow Saga #2) by Christopher Golden

My three new TBR Jar draws are as follows:

manybloodyreturns

1 # Many Bloody Returns edited by Charlaine Harris and Toni L.P. Kelner

I love these urban fantasy short story collections. This one has many exciting authors for me to try out. I bought it a long time ago and even forgot about it. All the stories in this collection share a topic of supernatural birthdays. I think I’ve read the one from Charlaine Harris long time ago somewhere. This would be a nice pick to read!

91DfvUtSFwL

2 # Necroscope (Necroscope #1) by Brian Lumley

This is one of the gems from the eighties. This book was praised by H.R. Giger whose macabre masterwork art inspired many. This book series is one of the first i got interested in when I started exploring the vampire themed literature. I got first two books of the series but never actually got to reading them. Interesting pick for sure.

6651700

3 #  Naamah’s Kiss (Naamah Trilogy, #1) by Jacqueline Carey

This book is actually part of a longer series. Before this trilogy there were two others which I’ve read years ago. I got this Naamah trilogy as a whole. What kept bugging me was that the editions were different from the first two trilogies and looked just awkward on the shelf. As much I enjoyed first two trilogies I loved the main characters and had doubts on how I was going to like this one. I’m still unsure since I want to like it :/

99-bookish-illustrations-world-book-day

Again I am reminded at some books that I’ve completely forgotten about. I kept being surprised by why I find on my bookshelves. While all three books have their merits I will have to think and choose one carefully. Right now I’m leaning towards Many Bloody Returns or even Necroscope.

Leave a Reply

