Books that changed me – A Fistful of Charms

s9685_NoTwoPersons_WB_CRM__35850.1426879630.600.600

I consider reading to be a personal experience. There is a quote by Edmund Wilson  “No two persons ever read the same book.” And I believe it to be truth in more ways than one. Some books were there for me when I needed something to hold on to.

A Fistful of Charms is one of those books.

A-Fistful-of-Charms-Kim-Harrison-Ha12-lge

“If you do it once, it’s a mistake. If you do it twice, it’s not a mistake anymore.”
― Kim Harrison, A Fistful of Charms

I’ve been in the middle of reading A Fistful of Charms when I was going trough a rough period of my life. This book was a lifesaver when I couldn’t do anything else but read the words on pages. Sometimes I remember only the pages and my slow progress. The main character has her ex boyfriend make an appearance in a bad way. And that kinda worked for me.

“There is black. There is white. Gray is a cowardly excuse to mix our wants with our needs.”
― Kim Harrison, A Fistful of Charms

This is a fourth book in The Hollows series by Kim Harrison. I has a kickass heroine and lots of action. This book series is completed and it has thirteen books altogether. I’m slowly buying them and reading them. I’ve read up to book eleven and have all but the last book. This book meant a lot to me. After reading it trough it took me a long time to move on to the next book in the series since the memories that went with it were not the good kind.

“Shades of gray, I thought, knowing I was slipping into places I had vowed I’d never go.”
― Kim Harrison, A Fistful of Charms

I’m glad I found a courage to keep reading. I’m constantly amazed at how good these books are. This book series has me emotionally involved on so many levels. Reading about characters who keep getting back up and keep kicking back is inspirational.

34e350fb9a1e3d5abf18670ff051c82a