Interview with the Vampire – Book Review

interview-with-a-vampire

Finished reading

Interview with the Vampire

(The Vampire Chronicles #1)

by Anne Rice

★★

Expectation

As a reader who enjoys stories with vampires this has been on my reading list for a shamefully long time. I even had a phase when I was collecting Anne Rice books with vampires. I managed to get most of them and right now there are only a few out of a dozen that I’m missing. I was hyped about this book and when I pulled it out of my TBR Draw Jar I felt good. When I was younger I watched the movie version more times than I can count.

51cf4333X4L

Summary

And it was watching the movie so many times that gave me issues with reading the book. This is the third time I was beginning to read this book. I kept coming back to the movie plots and characters. This was a problem since the movie and the books are very different. The differences, especially in the beginning where there were some characters that were left out of the movie, kept me thinking about the character motivation. I was lost through the most of this pensive book. I was not prepared for the languid pace of this book. Metaphors were aplenty and so were constant melancholic states of the characters. At times it was exhausting.

972px-Charpentier,_Constance_Marie_-_Melancholy_-_1801

The writing style reminded me of some mandatory reading I had trough schooling. It was almost as it was written long ago. Now that I think more on it, I can hardly believe that the author is a modern writer.

“I wanted love and goodness in this which is living death,’ I said. ‘It was impossible from the beginning, because you cannot have love and goodness when you do what you know to be evil, what you know to be wrong. You can only have the desperate confusion and longing and the chasing of phantom goodness in its human form. I knew the real answer to my quest before I ever reached Paris. I knew it when I first took a human life to feed my craving. It was my death. And yet I would not accept it, could not accept it, because like all creatures I don’t wish to die! And so I sought for other vampires, for God, for the devil, for a hundred things under a hundred names. And it was all the same, all evil. And all wrong. Because no one could in any guise convince me of what I myself knew to be ture, that I was damned in my own mind and soul.”
― Anne Rice, Interview with the Vampire

The Goth aspect of the book was harrowing. All the while I was reading I found one thing to resonate with the book I kept going back to the actor Tom Cruise – whose fan I am NOT – and this video insert from the movie.

Conclusion

I wanted to like it and gave it all the chances I could. It did not blew me away and I could not connect with any of the characters. I still harbor a certain respect for this book, genre and the author. I am still intrigued by this genre and this book series. I did not like the cliffhanger ending. I’m at odds and ends about continuing this book series. While I still hold the opinion that it is a must for any reader that likes vampire literature I’m not as infatuated with it as I was. Reading this book took a lot of effort. Also I’m still intrigued with the character of Lestat, not because he impressed me in the book, but because I cant seem to connect what I’ve read and watched with the impression I got from reviews and friends that read the other books as well. And I do have the other book of the series waiting on the shelf …

51H6iMyiFlL

One thought on “Interview with the Vampire – Book Review

  1. Pingback: TBR Jar Draw September 2017 | anastasiaadamov

Leave a Reply

